Woodworking & Instagram…

If you’re like me, you’re probably wondering what in the world these two have in common. Well a lot more than you think.

My daughter was in Richmond, VA, for her 3rd marathon over the weekend and Sat AM my wife should me a pic Kate had posted on Instagram. Ronda also said in a matter of fact tone, “You really should try Instagram, you’d like it”. Well she caught me in a half asleep weak moment because I signed up for it right then. And I must say, I’ve been pleasantly surprised. It’s actually kind of fun.

Since Instagram is all about photos, I posted some about my tool chest. And then I began to search Instagram for woodworking hashtags. OMG! It’s like crack cocaine. There are tons of other woodworkers on Instagram putting pics of their work up. I was tickled to death and like a kid in a candy store. I spent a good chunk of the day Sat surfing Instagram. Found several folks doing some cool woodworking that I’ve never heard of before. I “liked” some of their work and they reciprocated. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve become more and more of a hermit. Yesterday with Instagram was a very pleasant social experience for me.

So if you haven’t taken the Instagram plunge yet, I recommend it. They’re some neat woodworking folks out there.

-Charlie

PS I’m @charliesimpsonwftx on Instagram.

Leave a Reply

