Dutch Tool Chest…Lid…Part Four…

Tonight was a productive evening at the Mesquite St Wood Shop. I unclamped the lid this morning and it was pretty straight but by the evening a little cupped across its width. So I began to plane on the concave side across the width with the 5-1/2 set on a light cut and in short order I was taking full width shavings. I must say, taking stock to thickness and squaring boards is one of my favorite tasks of woodworking. I love the sight of a shaving pouring out the throat of a plane, the smell of the wood, and most of all the sound the plane makes taking a cut. It’s music to my ears. I also love the texture of the wood after I’ve finished. That connection from my hands, to my eyes and ears, to my mind is magical. As a kid when I was asked what I wanted to be when I grew up, I can remember my answer as clear as a bell, “I want to make stuff with my hands”. Using a plane is therapeutic to me. I love it.

20131121-225852.jpg
In this picture you can see there is till one low spot on the left end. It was brought even a short while later. On a side bar, notice I don’t have a tail vice on my bench. I’m using a Chris Schwarz plane stop from “The Anarchist’s Tool Chest” and a hold fast with a batten. A better view can be seen here. I learned this trick from the The English Woodworker.

20131121-230635.jpg
Pretty nifty way to hold a panel or a board. I can easily pick it up and look at it without having to undo anything. 👍👍. I then spent a few minutes with the smoother knocking the rough spots out.

20131121-231207.jpg
And now the lid is ready for some rabbets. I’m not 100% comfortable with my wooden skewed rabbet plane so I think I’m going to do most of the rabbet by hand (I also saw this method on The English Woodworker). I’ll scribe a knife line on the face of the lid and then come back with a chisel to make a small trough. I’ll then use this trough as a guide for my saw to take the line down to the proper depth. Starting at one end of the rabbet, I’ll use a chisel to take half of the waste out, repeating until I can only use a router plane or a thin cut on the rabbet plane to arrive at the final depth. I’ll take plenty of pics. Stay tuned, more to come!

-Charlie

Leave a Reply

