Dutch Tool Chest…Lid…Part 5…

Whew! I’ve reached a milestone, the lid is on the chest. YEAH!

20131123-224646.jpg
This morning I cut the inside edge of my rabbets with a cross cut saw and used a chisel to remove most of the waste and a wooden skewed rabbet plane to take it to the final depth.

20131123-225308.jpg

20131123-225428.jpg
Pretty soon I had rabbets all of the way around.

20131123-225655.jpg
I then took my bench dogs out for some exercise.

20131123-225838.jpg
Then it was time to focus on the hinges. This top was made to over hang about an inch all of the way around and I’m told that’s to keep water from getting inside the case if I leave it outside. The Schwarz says it really works, he speaks from experience. I also wanted the lid to stay vertical on its own when it was opened. These factors combined to require a small cutout in the lid for the hinges’ axle.

20131123-230724.jpg
Hinges fastened to the lid and an even smaller cutout on the back wall of the chest.

20131123-231149.jpg
Fasten hinges to back wall and we have a lid that opens and shuts.

20131123-231551.jpg

20131123-231739.jpg
I did notice a glaring error, to me anyway, that I need to decide if I’m going to fix or not. Remaining items for the tool chest, make a holder for my block plane, put the handles on, finish the tool rack and secure it, make a drawer for the lower compartment, and then paint or or oil the outside. My wife and father both suggested I leave the wood showing, which to be honest, I had never thought of, but it’s not a bad idea. I’m open to suggestions if anyone has them. No other major projects in then near future. Next on my to-do list is some corrections / modifications of my saw bench, complete the handle on my mallet, and prep for a quick project with my daughter next week. She’s going to be in town for turkey day and we’re going to make something together. Stay tuned, more to come.

-Charlie

Leave a Reply

