Easy Little Stuff on a Lazy & Cold Sunday afternoon…

Today I basked in the completion of my Dutch Too Chest and decompressed a little. Between watching football and keeping a fire going, I rubbed the chest down with two coats of Teak Oil and it turned out pretty good. The oil really made the dark areas pop.

20131124-210426.jpg
I made some leather squares for my holdfasts, made a gage for my sharpening jig, and trimmed my mallet handle flush with the head.

20131124-210924.jpg
The gage allows me to easily set the angle of my planes or chisels without having to use a ruler and verify the correct distance. Like so:

20131124-211735.jpg
I’m hoping to have handles for the chest tomorrow. Have a wonderful day Mon. More tomorrow night, stay tuned!

-Charlie

2 thoughts on “Easy Little Stuff on a Lazy & Cold Sunday afternoon…

    1. Thanks Jeff! I’m kind of liking the natural look myself. I had originally though of painting it orange with a coat of polyurethane, but my wife and sister in law talked me into leaving it as is. Just goes to show, women always know best. HA!

      -Charlie

Leave a Reply

