New for Me Dove Tail Marking Gage…

I took the handles

20131125-225230.jpg
to work and sand blasted them in preparation for black oxide plating.

20131125-225358.jpg
And I’m glad I did. The original plating was not very thick and came off in a snap. Unfortunately, my friend at the plating line did not get them done today. Hopefully Tue.

So tonight I worked on a dove tail marking gage I’ve been wanting for a while. At the tool chest class I attended, a couple of people had gages that allowed them to mark the slant and horizontal lines without repositioning the gage. What’s a little movement huh? For some people probably not much, for me, I thought I needed one.

I used a nice little strip of red oak I had stashed for a while. About 1.5″ wide by 3/8″ thick. I wanted a gage that would let me mark tails on 2 by lumber. When I write about my saw bench, you’ll see what I mean.

20131125-230431.jpg
The 2 pieces are about 1-3/4″ in length with 1 tail.

20131125-230723.jpg
I’m getting better with these things,because it didn’t take me long to get everything cut and fitted.

20131125-230910.jpg

20131125-230948.jpg
The gage on the left is a Paul Sellers style, one of the first things I made this year. I’ll let you know how the two compare after I’ve used them for a while. Tomorrow, I install handles,hopefully. Stay tuned, more to come.

-Charlie

Leave a Reply

