Woodworking with Kate…

Today was a treat. My daughter is in town for the Thanksgiving holiday and we spent the afternoon together doing some woodworking.

20131129-225758.jpg
She’s marking locations for holdfast holes on the saw bench. The holes needed to be 3/4″ diameter and I drilled 4 with a spade bit.

20131129-230630.jpg
I stopped after 4 because 3″ of southern yellow pine was too much for my cordless drill. Gee, if I only had a brace and some bits? I’m beginning to see a trend here. At this point, Kate wanted to move on to something more exciting. So we made her a business card holder that I saw on instructables.com.

20131129-231620.jpg

20131129-231656.jpg
They’re basically like a box of cereal with the top off, 3 pieces of wood sandwiched together. The middle pieces is U shaped and we used red oak. I found this project to be hard because the material is so thin, but we plowed our way through. In the end it was a grand time. Kate loves her card holder and we had a great day together. Not much else I want out of life. Check back to tomorrow for more adventures.
-Charlie

Leave a Reply

