Step Stool for Zeke…Part 9…A Bunch of Tails & A Few Pins…

It’s only been two days since I’ve written anything here on the blog, but it feels a lot longer though. Sat Morning and evening I cut tails on the two steps. I started off with shallow rabbets on the bottom side of each step at both ends. But this time I used my wooden skewed rabbet plane. I applied what I learned from Phil Edwards video and the execution and result was much better.

20131214-222216.jpg
There may be hope yet for this plane and me. The lay out and marking of the tails was same as always except I used my new marking knife and dovetail jig, both of which I like a lot.

20131214-222959.jpg
When I cut the shoulders for the tails I was careful to make a notch on the waste side of the gage line to aid in the facilitation of this first class cut. I used my Lie-Nielsen cross cut saw and concentrated mightily on keeping the blade vertical and tracking smoothly (I’ve had trouble with this cut in the past). All in all I was quite pleased with the outcome of these dovetails. Everything was square and I had only a few touch ups to do. Easily some of my best so far. I’m sure I haven’t gotten all of my bad ones out though.

20131214-224108.jpg
I should’ve quit while I was a head, but where is the fun in that!? I was anxious to get one set of pins cut to check fit up. Everything went fine but I got a little too close to a couple of lines and I have a couple of pins that aren’t super tight.

20131214-224754.jpg
But glue and some clamps should fix that issue. I won’t have another update until Mon evening. I’m going out of town on Sun and will get in late. Have fun and make some things.
-Charlie

Leave a Reply

