Mallet Handle and a Cutting Board…

For the past week, I’ve been fighting a head cold. No fever, but a stopped up head and a runny nose, which doesn’t sound possible, but that’s how I felt. Fri was the worst. I made it through work just barely and went home and passed out. This AM I felt like I had been run over by a truck. But as the morning and day progressed, I began to feel better and better and I was able to get a few things accomplished. I did have to take several breaks though.

I learned a lot about wood’s moisture content from my wood crafting adventure over Christmas break. I should’ve let the pieces dry before doing so much work on them. Perhaps the mallet head would not have split so much.

20140104-221216.jpg
None are so bad that they’ll scrap the piece, but I prefer not to have them. And I may try to squeeze some glue in the cracks. Bearing all of this experience in mind today, I went slow on the mallet handle.

20140104-221705.jpg
The grain structure is really nice looking in this stick. On my first mallet I used a taper on the handle to facilitate securing the head. I’m using a straight handle and wedges this time.

20140104-222511.jpg
Tomorrow I’ll drill the handle pilot hole and start to square it up.

A couple of folks I follow on Instagram made cutting boards for gifts and orders prior to Christmas and it sparked my interest. So I started one today. I’m using the walnut I snagged at Woodcraft a few weeks ago and piece of southern yellow pine from my scrap bin. I had to plane the pine to thickness and 6 square both boards.

20140104-224109.jpg
Tomorrow I’ll cut 3-4 strips from each board and do the first glue up. Be safe and check back tomorrow.
-Charlie

Leave a comment