Dutch Tool Chest Drawer…

Back in Nov when I took the Dutch Tool Chest class from The Schwarz, he left the overall height of the chest up to us. Because some people like to put a drawer in the lower compartment and others don’t. A friend and I decided to allow for a drawer. It’s going to go right above my mallet.

20140122-220224.jpg
I have 3.5″ of height to work with and prior to last night, I knew very little about drawer construction. But I found a great little book by Bill Hylton at Popular Woodworking, “The Drawer Book”. I got the downloadable version for $15 and started plowing through it. I had no idea there is so much that goes into making a drawer.

I’m using 7/8″ red oak for the front and 1/2″ poplar for everything else. Below is the piece I’ll use for the drawer front.

20140122-222908.jpg
The sides will be attached to front with half blind dovetails and through dovetails for the back. Lie-Nielsen hasn’t come out with their plow plane yet so I’m going to cut a 1/4″ dado/groove for the bottom by hand. I’m really glad I have that 3/16″ chisel now. I’ll use a solid wood bottom and extend it out the back to allow room for seasonal changes. At the moment, I’m going to use side mounted runners. So I may need to go with 3/4″ sides. I need to do more reading to be sure.

On a side note, I delivered step stool no. 2 to Zeke’s parents and they were thrilled with it. I asked for a pic of him using it. As soon as I get one I’ll post it. Tomorrow evening I need to make a slight improvement to redneck leg extensions and then I’ll work on trimming the front piece up so I can get it in the compartment. Still not sure about the height. I may need to go a little smaller. Be safe and make something cool.
-Charlie

Leave a Reply

