Dutch Tool Chest…Drawer…Glued up…

Smoothed my drawer bottom this evening and then set out to glue everything together. I’m really glad I took the time to ensure that all of the joinery fit well. Because I reached for a clamp to finish squeezing the final side home and my longest clamp was too short! I grabbed my mallet and a caul and set all of the joints with some force. Everything came out nice and square but I learned another good lesson.

20140213-223643.jpg I still need to run a smoothing plane over the outside of the drawer, mount the runners in the tool chest, finish the outside, and mount two drawer pulls. Plenty still left to do. I will be away from the shop Fri and Sat. The Mrs. and I are going on a little trip. Stay warm and be safe.
-Charlie

Leave a Reply

