Something New…Wood Sculpting I Guess…

20140310-230612.jpg Not really sure what to call this project, but my step daughter, Stephanie, wants a wooden asymmetrical wood block for a small plant stand. Here’s what I have so far.

This chunk of wood is about 6 x 6 x 4″. And it’s pecan that’s been dead for probably 3 years now, maybe longer. Same tree I made my mallet from. I think all of the decay and rotting gives it some character. I used a hatchet to get the rough shape split from a log and then my 3 bench planes to refine the faces. There’s one crack I want to try and fill with epoxy or glue and then I’ll cut a hole for the small pot and seal everything real good. Stay tuned and be safe.
-Charlie

Leave a Reply

